If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #14 Legacy Strain By By Taylor Brooke




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#14

Legacy Strain
(Isolation #3)
By Taylor Brooke 

Brooklyn Harper’s friends have betrayed her, her heart is broken, and all of humanity is at risk.

After Kirin’s unannounced arrival in Louisiana, Brooklyn finds herself scrambling for a way out of an impossible situation. Kirin is creating the deadly Genesis Cull, and Brooklyn doesn’t know who to turn to for help.

With no other options, she’s forced to trust her nemesis, Juneau Malloy. His support allows the group of Special Omen Operatives to gear up, form a plan of action, and train for the day when they come face-to-face with their worst fear—going to war with their friends.

There is a divide in the once inseparable group of Omens, and their only hope is to put the pieces back together.

Julian Yu Matsumoto agonizes over the difference between right and wrong, love and sacrifice, genocide and revolution. While he struggles with his feelings for Kirin, his moral compass is spinning round and round, his heart is being pulled in different directions, and Julian is desperate to answer questions he never thought he would have to ask.

Is Kirin's Genesis Cull a revolution or genocide?

Could there be another way to save themselves and humanity as they know it?

Will Julian pay the ultimate price for loving a monster?

Their only hope for redemption is—the Legacy Strain.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:


Taylor Brooke is a traveling story-teller, believer in magic, and a science fiction junkie.

Probably a tea snob. Definitely a beer snob. Bisexual, but pansexual, but bisexual - one of the two. Can have lengthy, in-depth conversations about an atomic lizard and his radioactive moth friend. Yearns for a life in the city, but dreams of founding an animal sanctuary. Future tiny house owner. Future tiny library owner, because her book collection won't fit in one tiny house.

Proudly writes inclusive Queer novels for teens and adults.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter |

Audio Book Review: Dark Tempest By Annette Marie

Dark Tempest
(Red Winter
Trilogy #2)
By Annette Marie 

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 11 hours and 7 minutes

Emi has dedicated her life to becoming the perfect vessel for the goddess Amaterasu, but the insidious betrayal of another deity has changed everything. Now Amaterasu has charged Emi with an urgent mission: to find and free the earthly gods before mankind is brought to its knees beneath divine tyranny.

At her side is Shiro, the mysterious fox spirit. When she first saved his life, she could never have imagined that behind his cunning and confidence, he was lost—his power bound by a devastating curse and his memories obscured. His veiled history is somehow tied to the missing gods, but he can't remember how or why.

As their search leads them into the murky depths of the spirit realm, the shadows of Shiro's past begin to emerge. With each brief awakening of his true self, she loses a little more of him. The fate of the heavens and earth rest in her mortal hands, and she must find the missing gods before time runs out for her world—and for Shiro.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | Audible | B&N |

Check Out The Other Books In This Trilogy:
(Linked to my review)


My Review:

This sequel was amazing! I love how the mythology is playing such a big part in the story with all these powerful beings. I also love how dynamic it's grown because it shines a light on how almost human and petty these, for lack of a better word, "gods" can be for world domination.

I like Emi's feisty nature and her quick retorts, but everything seems to come almost miraculously to her. She's also on death's door a lot. Her adventures, or should I say misadventures, move the story along, but it's something that's easy to overdo and I've met my quota for it.

Shiro has his true identity revealed in this novel and it was both exciting and devastating. His story is way more tragic than was visible in the first book. At this point, he almost seems to literally have battling personalities inside his head. I'm shipping Emi and Shiro, so it's bittersweet, to say the least.

I have a few theories as to how this series will end and I'm hoping I'm wrong on everything. I've never wanted a happy ending for a pair of characters like I want a happy ending for Emi and Shiro, preferably together.

The Audio Book:

The narration was great, but I still wish Emily Woo Zeller had a larger overall range of male voices so I could tell everyone apart easier.

My Rating:


Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader

Hiya My Little Predators!!

Welcome back to:
A weekly feature created By The Broke and the Bookish

I'll be switching things up this week! I always have a 25 day event counting down my favorite books of the year in the month of December. So it'd be redundant to do this weeks TTT topic which is Top Ten Favorite Books Of 2017. So with all that said...

This Week's Topic:
Top Ten Reasons I Love Being
A Blogger/Reader

Five Reasons I Love Being A Blogger:

- I have the opportunity to get early access (ARC's) to books that I REALLY want to read;

- I connect with so many other people that enjoy/obsess over books just as much as I do!;

- I help introduce people to books they wouldn't have picked up otherwise;

- It's helped me to have a better understanding of coding and website upkeep;

- I discovered that I enjoy writing and it's become a stress reliever.

Five Reasons I Love Being A Reader:

- I get to put myself in other people's shoes and live out their lives in the form of a book;

- I get to travel to other places and dimensions through the stories I read;

- It allows me an escape from reality even if it's just for a few hours at a time;

- It helps me upkeep my vocabulary;

- It also gives me random tidbits of information that I wouldn't otherwise know about had I been left to my own devices.

Why do you love being a reader?
Let me know in the comments below!

Monday, December 11, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #15 Blind Tiger By Rachel Vincent




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#15

Blind Tiger
(Wildcats #2)
By Rachel Vincent

Robyn Sheffield wants her life back.

As the only female stray in the US, she's had to deal with bloodlust, flashbacks, a lack of impulse control (which might not have anything to do with being a shifter), and weeks under house arrest for crimes she never meant to commit. But when she overhears the territorial council plotting to marry her off to an eligible tom? It's time for this chick to fly the coop.

Titus Alexander wants recognition.

He’s spent the past year carving his territory out of the Mississippi free zone, forming a community for strays exiled and forgotten by the US Prides. As the first stray Alpha, he’s sworn to bring the toms under his authority the rights, support, and respect that official confirmation from the council will bring. But then the council’s precious female stray sneaks into the free zone in the back of his car and demands sanctuary.

The council gives Titus a choice: send Robyn back and have his Pride acknowledged, or prepare for war. Citizenship for his men is within his grasp. So why is it so hard for him to let one rebellious tabby go?

This can be read as a standalone.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | Smashwords | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

A resident of Oklahoma, Rachel Vincent has a BA in English and an overactive imagination, and consistently finds the latter to be more practical. She shares her workspace with two black cats (Kaci and Nyx) and her # 1 fan. Rachel is older than she looks-seriously-and younger than she feels, but remains convinced that for every day she spends writing, one more day will be added to her lifespan.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #16 Singe By Aly Martinez




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#16

Singe
(Guardian Protection #1)
By Aly Martinez

She was my nightmare. Every time I closed my eyes, I watched her fall into that inferno. Over and over, I failed to save her.

I hadn’t been able to reach her, and the guilt only burned hotter over time. Four years later, I was the unreachable one.

Heroes aren’t always saints. Sometimes, we’re nothing more than jaded sinners driven by sleepless nights and hearts full of darkness.

And then I met her. She was a dreamer who managed to soothe my scars and heal my wounds.

But, as the flames closed in around us, I feared I wasn’t the right man to save her. That is until I realized she was the one woman I’d burn the world down to protect.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five, including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.

After some encouragement from her friends, Aly decided to add “Author” to her ever-growing list of job titles. Five books later, she shows no signs of slowing. So grab a glass of Chardonnay, or a bottle if you’re hanging out with Aly, and join her aboard the crazy train she calls life.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...